Vassar Student Association

Majors' Committees

Welcome! Below you can find the directory of Majors' Committees, and email addresses to get in touch. Each committee has an annually elected Chair and any number of interested at-large members, working tirelessly and selflessly to improve the lot of current and potential majors. The committees are responsible for holding departmental social events and get-togethers, and providing a space for majors to get to know one another. They represent the department or program at academic functions like the majors fairs, and nominate peer advisers every year. They also act as a resource for students curious about the major, JYA programs, professors, classes, speakers and lecturers, and senior work in the field. Don't hesitate to email them if you have any questions at all.

Name Committee Chair
Africana Studies Program
American Studies Program Wanda Noonan
Anthropology Department Penelope Duus, Drew Leventhal, Laila Blumenthal-Rothchild
Art Department Sophie Asakura
Asian Studies Program Victoria Jahns (Intern)
Astronomy Department, Physics and Mohammed Abdelaziz and Corrine Cotta
Biochemistry Program
Biology Department
Chemistry Department Ben Blair and Cady Cirbes
Chinese and Japanese Program Jessica Au (Chinese) and Rachael Njuki (Japanese)
Cognitive Science Program
Computer Science Department Jayce Rudig-Leathers
Drama Department Arden Shwayder
Earth Science Department
Economics Department
Education Department Nghiem Tran (Intern)
English Department Alex Raz (Intern)
Environmental Studies Program
Film Department Anna Iovine
French and Francophone Studies Department Brianna Reed (Intern) and Kristina Muller (Intern)
Geography Department
German Studies Department Kristen Caccavale (Intern)
Greek and Roman Studies
Hispanic Studies Department Arisa Gereda (Intern) and Ashley Barad (Intern)
History Department Hannah Reynolds (Intern)
Independent Program
International Studies Program Maddie McCarthy (Intern) and Colin Edwards (Intern)
Italian Department
Jewish Studies Program
Latin American and Latino/a Studies Program Jacqueline Geoghegan
Mathematics Department Lisa Esposito
Media Studies Program Maya Toler (Intern) and Julli Taveras (Intern)
Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program
Music Department Joseph Sopchak (Intern) and Sarah Johnson (Intern)
Neuroscience and Behavior Program Nick Page
Philosophy Department
Political Science Department Emma Davis and Samuel Beckenhauer
Psychology Department Margaret Port
Religion Department
Russian Studies Department
Science, Technology and Society Program Kate Hennessy (Intern)
Sociology Department Sarah Murphy (Intern)
Urban Studies Program
Victorian Studies Program
Women's Studies Program Erin Boss and Brittani Skyers-White


Academic Departments
Field Work
Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center
Majors Committees
Peer Advising

Student Life

Campus Activities
CIE Audit
Campus Dining
Navigating Vassar
Student Handbook
Residential Life


Career Development
Health Services
Office Directory